Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Davis GOP candidates jockey for candidacy at county convention
Apr 16, 2014 | 2601 views | 0 0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Davis County GOP convention at Davis High School - Louise R. Shaw | Davis Clipper
Davis County GOP convention at Davis High School - Louise R. Shaw | Davis Clipper

KAYSVILLE - It’s hard to predict what’s going to happen at a political convention - to say the least.

Bet-takers might’ve been hard-pressed to win on all counts, Saturday, based on results of the Davis County Republican Convention.

For example: incumbent Sheriff Todd Richardson received more than two-thirds of the delegate vote, at more than 68 percent, to defeat his Republican opponent, Bob Yeaman. Yeaman retired from the department several years ago, after having served as a chief deputy over the jail.

In the county assessor’s race, incumbent Dennis Yarrington didn’t fare so well.

In an almost reverse situation to the Sheriff’s race, his opponent, Dale Peterson, claimed almost 68 percent of the delegate vote. Peterson currently heads the Davis County Tax Administration Department and has extensive experience as an auditor.

There will be runoffs in the June primary, meanwhile, for a couple of candidates.

In the county commission A seat, incumbent Bret Millburn, who received 55.7 percent of the vote, will square off against Brian Muir, a former North Salt Lake councilman, who garnered 44.25 percent of the vote.

In the county clerk/auditor position, Van Christensen received 42.4 percent of the vote vs. Curtis Koch, who got 56.99 percent.

Any candidate receiving 60 percent or more of delegate votes automatically won the Republican nomination.

Such was the case for county commission seat B, handily won by Jim Smith, with 71.1 percent of the vote. He was opposed by Barry Flitton and Michelle Scharf.

County recorder incumbent Richard Maughan received 66.71 percent of the vote, beating out Kevin Merrill and Anthony Thompson.

In the state House of Representatives races, the delegate vote came out this way:

- District 19, Chet Loftis got 56.8 percent of the vote vs. 43.2 percent for Raymond Ward, meaning they will square off in the primary.

- In District 18, Timothy Hawkes walked away with 73.48 percent of the vote against 26.52 percent for Lawrence Wright.

- In District 17, incumbent Stewart Barlow received 60.18 percent of the vote, just enough to avoid a challenge in the primary from his Republican opponent, Scott Balaich, who got 36.84 percent of the vote.

- In District 13, incumbent Paul Ray received 93.67 percent of the vote, beating out Lorenzo Swank, who got 6.33 percent of the delegate vote.

In the two state senate races up for election involving Davis County residents this year, incumbent Stuart Adams in District 22, garnered 89.67 percent of the vote vs. 10.33 percent for Chad Curvin.

F. Ann Millner is running in District 18. As it is a multi-county race, including Davis, Morgan and Weber Counties, voting will take place at the April 26 state convention. The same holds true for other state-wide races, such as U.S. Congress.

Races for which there were no Republican challengers include: Sean Reyes, attorney general; and Jerry Stevenson, Senate District 21; the following House races: District 11, Brad Dee, District 14, Curtis Oda, District 15, Brad Wilson, District 16, Steve Handy, and District 20, Becky Edwards.

Also, County Attorney Troy Rawlings, County Surveyor Max Elliott and County Treasurer Mark Altom are unopposed. 

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of
Follow us on: