Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Utah FIlm Critics award "Gravity" as best film of 2013
Dec 20, 2013 | 2592 views | 0 0 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Sandra Bullock in Gravity  - © 2013 - Warner Bros. Pictures
Sandra Bullock in Gravity - © 2013 - Warner Bros. Pictures
SALT LAKE CITY - The outer space drama Gravity won three awards, including best picture of 2013 at the annual meeting of the Utah Film Critics Association.

Gravity's Alfonso Cuarón won best achievement in directing, and Emmanuel Lubezki won for cinematography.

In the performance categories, Adèle Exarchopoulos was recognized for female lead performance for Blue is the Warmest Color, while Chiwetel Ejiofor won male lead performance for 12 Years a Slave.

Scarlett Johansson received the award for female supporting performance for Her, while Bill Nighy won male supporting performance for About Time.

Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright were recognized for original screenplay for The World’s End, with Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke receiving adapted screenplay honors for Before Midnight.

Disney's Frozen took honors for best animated feature.

In the documentary feature category, The Act of Killing was recognized, while Blue is the Warmest Color won another award for best non-English language feature.

The complete list:

Best Picture

Winner: Gravity

(runner-up: 12 Years A Slave)


Best Achievement in Directing

Winner: Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity

(runner-up: Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave)


Best Lead Performance by an Actor

Winner: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

(runner-up: Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis)


Best Lead Performance by an Actress

Winner: Adèle Exarchopoulos, Blue is the Warmest Color

(runner-ups: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine & Sandra Bullock, Gravity) (tie)


Best Supporting Performance by an Actor

Winner: Bill Nighy, About Time

(runner-up: Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave)


Best Supporting Performance by an Actress

Winner: Scarlett Johansson, Her

(runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle)


Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Simon Pegg & Edgar Wright, The World’s End

(runner-up: Nat Faxon & Jim Rash, The Way Way Back)


Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke, Before Midnight

(runner-up: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave)


Best Cinematography

Winner: Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity

(runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis)


Best Documentary Feature

Winner: The Act of Killing

(runner-up: Blackfish)


Best Non-English Language Feature

Winner: Blue Is the Warmest Color

(runner-up: The Past)


Best Animated Feature

Winner: Frozen

(runner-ups: From Up on Poppy Hill & The Wind Rises) (tie)


The Utah Film Critics Association is comprised of film journalists from print, online and broadcast media based in Utah.

Members include: Rich Bonaduce,; Luke Hickman,; Jimmy Martin, KRSP 103.5 FM/ Big Movie Mouth-Off; Sean P. Means, Salt Lake Tribune; Dan Metcalf, Davis Clipper News; Andy Morgan, KNVU-AM; Ryan Michael Painter, KUTV 2; Aaron Peck, Logan Herald-Journal; Scott Renshaw, Salt Lake City Weekly; Steve Salles, Standard-Examiner (Ogden); Mike Thiriot, KTHB 94.9 FM; Tony Toscano, Talking Pictures; Jeff Michael Vice, Big Movie Mouth-Off; and Doug Wright, KSL Movie Show.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of
Follow us on: