Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Governor’s State of Sports nominees announced
Mar 10, 2013 | 1287 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print

SALT LAKE CITY — Utah sports fans can vote for their favorite athletes, coach, team, play and event of the year for the second annual Governor’s State of Sport Awards.

The awards, hosted by the Utah Sports Commission, celebrates Utah’s sports community and honors excellence in high school, amateur, collegiate, Olympic and professional sports.

Gov. Gary Herbert and former professional tennis player Andre Agassi will speak and present awards to the winners.

There will be nine categories for each sports fan to vote on: High School female and male athlete of the year, college or professional female athlete, college male athlete, professional male athlete, coach of the year, team of the year, game or event of the year and play or highlight of the year.

Locally, Daniel Summerhays was nominated. A former Davis High golf standout, he is up for professional male athlete along with Jesse Wright (PRCA Rodeo), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Trevor Lewis (L.A. Kings hockey), and Paul Krueger and Haloti Ngata (Baltimore Ravens football).

Voting for each category is ongoing until Tuesday, April 9, and winners will be announced on Tuesday, April 16 at the awards ceremony.

To vote, visit

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of
Follow us on: